Pride 2017

Boston Pride 2017 video essay and transcript.

The transcript of this video is below.

Navigating identity and self is a complex journey. For the first time since coming out, I attended Pride.

Being in Boston surrounded by friends, the community, and led by the survivors of Pulse made me proud, more so than ever before.

The community is resilient, persistent, loving and supportive. Despite the flaws, which exist in any group, overall everyone is proud and loud of our existence.

Four years ago I hadn’t given my identity a passing thought. Now it’s a huge aspect of who I am. But I’m more than queer. That is one line of my intersectionality. I’m Polynesian, a nerd, a gamer, a hard cider drinker, a daughter, a friend.

Who I am is layered and growing. I’m not sure what the next few years will have in store for me and my identity, but I’m excited to see what happens next.

And to continue living proudly with my community.

Leave a Reply

