So it goes.

The transcript of this video is below.

As a freshman, my friend Jess told me that the next four years would fly by. Time is a goon.

It’s the weekend before finals, and as I and my peers write term papers and rehearse presentations, I’m faced with bidding farewell to a place I’m privileged to call home. This bittersweet experience makes my throat get tight and my eyes well.

For the first time in four years, I’m going to pack up my room and not move across campus for the summer. I won’t walk into the Office of Residence Life for work and spend my evenings hanging out with friends on the RA staff.

College is this strange time in your life where you are figuring out who you are. A process that doesn’t stop after you put on the cap and gown.

In two weeks I’m going to cross a stage and be given a diploma. A piece of paper that represents my academic achievement. What it doesn’t show is the tears, mental breakdowns, coffee cups, laughter, late nights, and friends I gained along the way.

I grew far more at college than I ever would have anticipated. That growth changed me for the better, even though at times it didn’t feel worth it.

Wherever I end up I will have these memories to look back on. They say when one door closes, another opens. But this feels like more than that. This is more than closing a chapter of my life.

So it goes.

2 thoughts on “So it goes.

  1. Did you just reference A Visit from the Goon Squad? Polley and Nugent would be proud. Also, I said that?! (That feels like forever ago, so time really does fly haha)

    So proud and excited for your graduation, pal! On to the next adventure…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup. Goon Squad and Slaughterhouse-Five. It was either you or Jac, but I’m 99% certain it was you. On the day before you were leaving for Disney, I think I was helping you pack your car and you said that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

