After the Revival Part 3

This post contains spoilers to Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life. Proceed with caution.

In the first two blogs about Gilmore Girls: AYINL, I talked about the ending, and Jess, if you want to catch up before you read this.

I don’t know about you, but I cried my way through A Year in the Life. It was inevitable.

I understand completely with how Rory feels. I have no idea what my future will hold, even though people constantly ask me where I’m going after I graduate. All I know is that there are a lot of options, and none of them have solidified yet.

If my grandma watched the show and the revival, she would probably identity most with Emily. Although she isn’t a widow, her divorce recently finalized, and she’s trying to figure out who she is in the world without her ex-husband.

And my mom. Well, Fall was the episode that had me crying the most. When she told Luke that they should get married, the waterworks started. And they continued the whole wedding.

In April, my mom got married. She and my step-dad have dated on and off since I was ten, and have been engaged on and off three times. Seventeen years of me knowing them together, they finally got married in a tiny ceremony much like Lorelai & Luke’s.

Lorelai & Luke’s wedding reminded me of how beautiful and perfect my mom’s wedding was, and how proud I was to 1) be there, and 2) be able to see my mom happily married.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about life and family after making some wild choices and being away from my family for a few years, its that things change in little ways and in big ways.

Each episode is named after a season, which is a fitting metaphor for life. Life changes like the seasons. It changes whether you want it to or not. The world will keep turning, the seasons will keep changing, and so will life. In the end, it all depends on how you weather those changes.

 

4 thoughts on “After the Revival Part 3

Leave a Reply

