Comic Review: Monstress

Resident Assistant training is finally over, and its syllabus week, which means I have time to write a review for one of the other comics I have most anticipated reading after Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur. Put Monstress on your radar, cause that’s what this week is all about.

Monstress vol. 1: Awakening is a comic I was drawn to because of the art. I’m a sucker for beautiful things, and the art reminded me of the detailed work of Bizenghast, a manga series I read in high school.

The artistic details of Monstress are gorgeous. If you don’t believe me, take a look at the monstress-vol-1featured image, or the ornate work on the cover. Artwork is such an important aspect to a graphic novel, that I couldn’t let this one drop off my radar. And after picking it up at Boston Comic Con, I was excited to read it as soon as I could. Congratulations to Sana Takeda for their flawless style for hooking me well before I picked this up.

Enough about the art (because I could go on about it forever).

Monstress drops  you into the middle of the action about the protagonist, Maika, and as a reader, you’re sort of unsure what’s happening at the start. The story is written and drawn that you’ll have enough information by volume one’s end to keep you coming back for more, and fill in the blanks from the beginning.

Maika is at the center of a number of magical incidents thanks to her mother. She spends quite a lot of time blasting herself out of captivity using her magic, and several weapons that she wields quite well despite missing one arm. Maika is formidable with her magic, and shouldn’t be messed with.

Marjorie Liu has created a wonderful story in the first volume (issues 1-6) of Monstress. I already can’t wait to read volume two. All of the characters have rich stories, and there is so much world-building. Its easy to be drawn in by more than just the art alone. Give Monstress a read if you are looking for a great fantasy read. Its well worth it.

maika_hunted_1_copy_-_h_2015

 

Leave a Reply

