Comic Review: Silk vol. 0

When I was making the reading list, one of the characters I was most anxious to read about was Silk. Following that anticipation, I quickly moved finding her trade paperback into the top ten to find. And I wasn’t disappointed.

You’re probably wondering why I was so interested to find out more about Silk. For one thing, she fits into my diverse character list that I hope to read about next summer. And two, she’s another spidey-type like Miles and Spider-Gwen. What’s sold me most about Silk has been her backstory.

If you haven’t figured out by my last name, I’m Asian (Japanese to be more specific). I have a mixed background of Japanese/Hawaiian/Filipino on my mother’s side, and European on my father’s. I’ve come out pretty even in the genetics department. Pop culture doesn’t pay much attention to anyone that’s Asian. They get a massive stereotype thrown at them (ninjas), or seen as the “smart-type.” Its been difficult to find role models that look like me.

But that’s where Silk comes in. And she fits the bill of being the superhero role model I wanted as a kid.

silk-1-panelIn Silk vol 0: The Life and Times of Cindy Moon we meet Cindy. She seems to be in her early to mid-20s and is trying to get used to being a superhero while also relearning her powers. After being in isolation for 10 years, she’s a bit rusty. Between fighting crime with wonked out silk-sense (kind of like spidey sense), readjusting to social situations, and Spider-Man swinging by to keep her company, Cindy has a lot on her plate. Cindy is also looking for her family after not seeing them since she elected to go into isolation until there was a cure for her powers, or until she has learned how to use them.

The art done by Stacey Lee is amazing. Along with the other artists on this project, Annapaola Martello, Tana Ford. Ian Herring does a great job making all of the art pop as the colorist.

Robbie Thompson has done such a great job writing Silk, and focusing on a variety of issues that Cindy faces – even in just the first volume. Isolation for a decade has its drawbacks;  Cindy regularly has commentary on being back in the world and how noisy or busy it has become. And then the constant worry of maintaining her work attendance because she has a fear that she’s going to get fired.

If you’re looking for someone other than Peter Parker that has been bitten by that radioactive spider, check out Silk vol. 1: The Life and Times of Cindy Moon. I recommend this series for anyone that wanted a superhero that looked like them as a kid. Cindy is definitely a woman to watch out for.

tumblr_o3oqiv2roa1ujnmcyo6_1280

2 thoughts on “Comic Review: Silk vol. 0

Leave a Reply

