Sometimes

Sometimes I think about what I want to do after graduation. I’ve watched a lot of friends graduate from university, and now that I’m entering my senior year, I’m torn with what I want to do. And maybe its not that I’m torn, its that there’s so many choices to make.

I think about grad school, and where I want to go. Do I want to pursue working in Residence Life? Or should I look at something else in higher education?

I think about looking for a job and taking a year or two before going back to school.

Do I want to foster animals or figure out how to buy a zoo? Or work at an animal sanctuary for dogs?

And then I think about moving to a foreign country. Would I go to Spain, England, Germany? Or venture to Romania where I have family via my step-dad? At least right now, I’d want to start in Belgium.

grand place,
Photo cred: Me. Grand Place, Brussels, Belgium.

Belgium doesn’t always have the best reputation. At least lately there have been a lot of things that have happened there. But it was a place that won my heart two years ago.

I met some amazing people there, and learned so much. The city was beautiful. And I always want to go back.

I don’t know what I’d do. Like everything else in my life, I’d figure it out. I moved across the country, I think I could manage.

Or how crazy would it be to go volunteer in a foreign country? I’m probably not even remotely the best candidate. But I’ve always loved to help people. It was a huge part of my life from middle school to before I moved out to New Hampshire. Volunteering is what I did.

Figuring out my life after SNHU is what this summer is going to be about. And that thought is both exciting and terrifying.

 

Leave a Reply

