Trying New Things

Writing is hard. Every writer has their own method to the madness, and every writer works differently. Some people are diamond polishers, and some are vomit drafters.

However, there are other ways that writers are different. Maybe you’re someone that likes the darkness of night as your writing backdrop. Or perhaps you enjoy the hissing of espresso machines and the aroma of coffee to keep you focused.

What do you do to generate ideas? Or get you focused to write? Do you have a favorite playlist?

This semester I’ve been taking a fiction workshop. While my first short story worked out really well, the second and third have been misses. And its come to a point where I am unsure how to get myself out of this rut.

According to my professor I can handle setting, characters, dialogue, and details well. I can keep my readers interested. However sometimes I lack the emotional shift that makes readers go, “Oh.”

On Friday, I went by my professor’s office hours to ask for advice. We talked for thirty minutes about my third short story for the class, and what we both knew it needed.

But I wasn’t sure what to do. I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember. And I’ve finally hit a wall in my growth because the old methods aren’t working.

She suggested I start reading more short stories. If its what I enjoy writing, I need to immerse myself in that world and learn from the best. I need to read like a writer and study the craft. Its time to write in the margins again.

With that being said, anyone have any short story collections, authors, or short stories they would like to recommend?

2 thoughts on “Trying New Things

Leave a Reply

