Dream On

It was a strange moment to be standing parallel to her. The minister was present, along with my mom and our friends.

Our proposal had been sudden. And silly, involving her hiding the ring in my pocket.

My heart beat so hard I couldn’t hear anything else. All I wanted to do was stare at her in the simple white dress. Erin looked how a bride should, in every sense that cliche phrase implies.

And there I stood in my sweatpants.

Yes. I was wearing sweats. Strange, right?

Yeah, I thought so too. I woke up thinking it was an incredibly odd dream. Even more so when taken into account I am the most single person out of my friends.

Dreams are strange. They create vivid experiences that keep you asleep or startle you awake in a cold sweat.

I could research into what my psyche is trying to tell me. Or I could have a funny story to tell my friends.

I don’t know who this Erin is in my dream. Are you real? Do we have a future together? When will we meet?

If you are real, I hope that when we do meet, and if we have a future together, that I’ll feel the same way about the real you as I did about the dream you.

Otherwise, I’ll continue to dream on.

Leave a Reply

