Mother’s Day

It was around this time two years ago that I committed to moving across the country for university. My last quarter at the community college I attended was over, my deposit was in, and I was figuring out how long my shifts needed to be so I could save money.

My mom and I have spent two years mostly apart. I return to Seattle during winter break for two and a half weeks. Its when I visit friends, have doctors appointments, and hang out with my family.

I’m 3,000 miles from my mom on Mother’s day, which occasionally aligns with her birthday. And in the two years I’ve been away, I’ve managed to figure out ways to celebrate with her.

My first Mother’s Day away from my mom, we talked on FaceTime for a few hours while I hung out in the quiet of the residence hall I lived in over the summer. The iPhone I talked on changed hands through the family before finally we said our goodbyes. I sent my mom a card with a gift card inside, and a message for how much I loved her.

When I was home last Christmas, I gave her an iPod touch, taught her how to use it, and showed her that we could FaceTime on it so that she could sit on the couch comfortably instead of at the computer for Skype. This has changed everything. My mom texts me when she wants to talk, sends me pictures of our beagle, and we FaceTime once or twice a week depending on our schedules.

I’ve found it to be a lot of fun to send her items I’ve collected over my time here. School sweats (they’re super soft!), Peanuts Holiday Collection (its a book), some small electronics I know she was looking for, and a few other odds and ends. I added a card with a poem (it was for her birthday), and a gift card to her favorite restaurant.

Today, my mom is probably hanging out with her mom. I’d guess they attended the pancake breakfast my mom’s church puts on, and then went out to have sushi after the late service.

I feel bad that I’m across the country from her. We only see each other through a camera, or for 2.5 weeks out of 52.

My mom is awesome, and I could probably write a much better essay about her. She’s my cheerleader, and my hero. I hope she has a wonderful day doing whatever she wants to do.

Leave a Reply

